
  

                   Arizona Form 
2009 Credit for Increased Excise Taxes                               140ET 
 
Phone Numbers 
 
If you need help, please call one of these numbers. 
 

Phoenix (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free (800) 352-4090 
Hearing impaired TDD user 
Phoenix (602) 542-4021 
From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free (800) 397-0256 

 
You may also visit our web site at: www.azdor.gov 
 
Who Can Use Form 140ET? 
 
NOTE:  Do not file Form 140ET if you are filing an income 
tax return using Form 140, Form 140A, Form 140EZ, or 
Form 140PY. You may claim this credit on those forms by 
completing the worksheet in the instructions for those forms. 
 
File Form 140ET only if you meet the following. 
 
1. You are not required to file an income tax return and you 

do not qualify for the property tax credit on Form 
140PTC.  

2. You were an Arizona resident during 2009.  
3. You are not claimed as a dependent by any other taxpayer.  
4. You were not sentenced for at least 60 days of 2009 to a 

county, state or federal prison.  
5. Your federal adjusted gross income is:  

 $25,000 or less if you are married filing a joint return; 
 $25,000 or less if you are filing as head of household; 
 $12,500 or less if single; 
 $12,500 or less if married filing separately.  

Your federal adjusted gross income is income that you must 
report on your federal income tax return less adjustments to 
income allowed on the federal income tax return.  If you are 
not sure if your federal adjusted gross income meets the 
limit, you may want to complete a federal income tax return. 
 
If you meet all of 1 through 5 above, you may claim a credit 
for increased excises taxes paid. Complete Form 140ET to 
figure your credit. 
 
NOTE:  The credit cannot exceed $100 per household.  Do 
not file form 140ET if someone else in your household has 
already claimed $100 of the credit.  If someone else in your 
household has filed Form 140ET claiming less than $100, 
you may file Form 140ET. The total of all credit claims filed 
from your household cannot be more than $100. 
 
How do I Know if I Must File an Income Tax 
Return? 
 
You must file an Arizona income tax return if:  
 Your gross income is $15,000 or more. Figure your 

gross income the same as you would figure your gross 
income for federal income tax purposes.  

 Your Arizona adjusted gross income is $11,000 or 
more if married filing a joint return.  

 Your Arizona adjusted gross income is $5,500 or more if 
single, head of household, or married filing a separate 
return.  

Your Arizona adjusted gross income is your federal adjusted 
gross income modified by additions and subtractions 
allowed under Arizona law. If you are not sure if your 
Arizona adjusted gross income meets this limit, you may 
want to complete an Arizona income tax return.  

How do I Know if I Qualify for the Property Tax 
Credit? 
 
You may take the property tax credit using Form 140PTC if 
you meet all the following.  
 You were either 65 or older in 2009 or receiving SSI Title 

16 income from the Social Security Administration.  
 You were an Arizona resident for the full year in 2009.  
 You paid property tax on your Arizona home in 2009. 

You paid rent on taxable property for the entire year or 
you did a combination of both.  

 If you lived alone, your income from all sources was 
under $3,751. If you lived with others, the household 
income was under $5,501.   

Do not file Form 140ET if you are filing Form 140PTC. 
You may claim this credit on Form 140PTC. 
 
When Should You File? 
 
You should file this form by April 15, 2010. You may 
request an extension using Form 204. 
 
How to File Form 140ET 
 
Complete Form 140ET and mail the completed Form 140ET to: 
 
Arizona Department of Revenue 
P.O. Box 52138 
Phoenix AZ 85072-2138 
 
What if a Claimant Died? 
 
If a claimant died before filing a claim for 2009, the 
taxpayer's spouse or personal representative may file and 
sign a Form 140ET for that person. 
 
Enter the word "deceased" after the decedent's name in the 
address section of the form. Also enter the date of death 
after the decedent's name.  
 
You must also complete Form 131, Claim for Refund on 
Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer.  Attach this form to the front 
of Form 140ET. 
 
How do I Amend a Claim? 
 
For 2009, if you need to make changes to your claim once 
you have filed, you should file a corrected Form 140ET.  Be 
sure to check box 95 at the top of the return. 
 

Line-by-Line Instructions 
 
Taxpayer Identification Number 
 
Make sure that every return, statement, or document that you 
file with the department has your social security number 
(SSN).  Make sure your SSN is clear and correct.  You may 
be subject to a penalty if you fail to include your SSN.  It 
may take longer to process your claim if your SSN is 
missing, incorrect, or unclear. 
 
ID Numbers for Paid Preparers 
 
If you pay someone else to prepare your return, that person 
must also include an ID number where asked. A paid 
preparer may use any of the following. 
 
 his or her SSN 
 his or her PTIN 
 the federal employer identification number for the 

business 
 
A paid preparer who fails to include the proper numbers 
may also be subject to a penalty.  
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Line 1 - 
 
Type or print your name in black ink. Include your first 
name, middle initial, and last name.  Enter your SSN in the 
space provided.  If a joint claim, also enter your spouse’s 
name and SSN. 
 
Line 2 - 
 
Print or type your current address. Include your house or 
building number and street or rural route. Include your 
apartment number if you live in an apartment. Include your 
mobile home lot number if you live in a mobile home.  
 
Line 3 - 
 
Print or type the name of your city, town, or post office. 
Also include your state and zip code.  
 
Filing Status Lines 4 through 7 - 
 
Use this section to determine your filing status. Check the 
correct box (4 through 7) on the front of Form 140ET. 
 
Line 4 - Married Filing a Joint Claim 
 
You may file a joint claim if you were married as of 
December 31, 2009. You may also file a joint claim if your 
spouse died in 2009 and you did not remarry in 2009.  
 
Line 5 - Head of Household 
 
You may use the head of household status, only if one of the 
following applies. 
 
 You qualify to file as head of household for federal 

income tax purposes.   
 You qualify to file as a qualifying widow or widower 

for federal income tax purposes. 
 
For federal income tax purposes, you may be able to file as 
head of household if you meet all of the following 
requirements. 
 
1. You are unmarried or considered unmarried on the last 

day of the year. 
2. You paid more than half the cost of keeping up a home 

for the year. 
3. A qualifying person must live with you in the home for 

more than half the year (except for temporary absences, 
such as school).  

 
To find out more about being a head of household or a 
qualifying widow or widower, see federal publication 501. 
 
Line 6 - Married Filing Separately 
 
You may use this filing status if married as of December 31, 
2009, and you elect to file a separate claim.  
 
If you are filing a separate claim, check the box on line 6 
and enter your spouse's name and SSN on the second box 1.  
 
Line 7 - Single 
 
File a single claim if you were single on December 31, 2009.  
You are single if any of the following apply to you.  
 You have never been married. 
 You are legally separated under a decree of divorce or 

of separate maintenance. 
 You were widowed before January 1, 2009, and you did 

not remarry in 2009, and you do not qualify to file as a 
qualifying widow or widower with dependent children 
for federal income tax purposes. 

 

Line 8 - 
 
Read the information under the heading “Who Can Use Form 
140ET?” and answer the question on line 8.  
Line 9 - Dependents  
 
You may claim this credit for dependents that are residents of 
Arizona.  You cannot claim this credit for a dependent that is 
an Arizona nonresident.  List only those people that qualify as 
your dependent for federal income tax purposes.  Except do not 
list any dependent that is not an Arizona resident. 
 
On lines 9A1 through 9A3, enter each dependent's name and 
SSN. 
 
For federal income tax purposes, a dependent is either a 
qualifying child or a qualifying relative. 
 
To claim a qualifying relative as a dependent for federal 
purposes, you must meet the following 5 tests: 
 
1. Relationship Test.  The person must be either your 

relative or have lived in your home as a family member 
all year.  

2. Joint Return Test. If the person is married, he or she 
cannot file a joint federal return.  But the person can file 
a joint federal return if the return is filed only as a claim 
for refund and no tax liability would exist for either 
spouse if they had filed separate returns.  

3. Citizen or Resident Test.  The person must be a U.S. 
citizen or resident alien, or a resident of Canada or 
Mexico. There is an exception for certain adopted 
children.    

4. Income Test.  The person’s gross income must be less 
than $3,650.  

5. Support Test.  You must have provided over half of the 
person’s total support in 2009. 

 
To claim a qualifying child as a dependent for federal 
purposes, you must meet the following 4 tests: 
 
1. Relationship test. The child must be your child 

(including an adopted child, stepchild, or eligible foster 
child), brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, or a 
descendent of one of these relatives.  

 
2. Residency test. The child must live with you for more 

than half of the year. Temporary absences for special 
circumstances, such as for school, vacation, medical 
care, military service, or detention in a juvenile facility 
count as time lived at home.  

 
3. Age test. The child must be under age 19 at the end of 

the year, or under age 24 at the end of 2009 if a student, 
or any age if permanently and totally disabled. 

 
4. Support test. The child cannot have provided over half 

of his or her own support during the year.   
To learn more about who may be a dependent, see federal 
publication 501.  
Lines 10 through 14 - 
 
Complete lines 10 through 14 as instructed on the form.   
Direct Deposit of Refund 
 
Complete the direct deposit line if you want us to directly 
deposit the amount shown on line 14 into your account at a 
bank or other financial institution (such as a mutual fund, 
brokerage firm or credit union) instead of sending you a 
check.  
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NOTE: Check the box on line 14A if the direct deposit will 
ultimately be placed in a foreign account.  If you check box 
14A, do not enter your routing or account numbers.  If this 
box is checked, we will not direct deposit your refund.  We will 
send you a check instead. 
 
Why Use Direct Deposit? 
 
 You get your refund fast! 
 Payment is more secure, there is no check to get lost. 
 More convenient.  No trip to the bank to deposit your check. 
 Saves tax dollars.  A refund by direct deposit costs less 

than a check.  
NOTE: We are not responsible for a lost refund if you enter 
the wrong account information. Check with your financial 
institution to get the correct routing and account numbers 
and to make sure your direct deposit will be accepted. If the 
direct deposit is rejected, a check will be sent instead. 
 
Routing Number 
 
The routing number must be 9 digits.  The first 2 digits must 
be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32.  Otherwise, the direct 
deposit will be rejected and a check sent instead.  On the 
following sample check, the routing number is 250250025.  
Your check may state that it is payable through a financial 
institution different from the one at which you have your 
checking account.  If so, do not use the routing number on 
that check.  Instead, contact your financial institution for the 
correct routing number to enter here.  
Account Number 
 
The account number can be up to 17 characters (both numbers 
and letters).  DO NOT include hyphens, spaces or special 
symbols.  Enter the number from left to right and leave any 
unused boxes blank.  On the sample check below, the account 
number is 20202086.  Be sure not to include the check number.  

  
Instructions for Amending 
 
Use this form to correct your credit if Form 140ET is the 
only form that you have filed.  
 
If amending, check box 95 on the top of Form 140ET. 
 
Use the following lines to correct an already filed 2009 
Form 140ET.               

Line 15 - 
 
Use the following worksheet to figure the amount to enter 
on this line. 
 

1. Enter the total credit you received 
from your original 2009 Form 
140ET. 

 
 
1. 

2. If this is not your first amended 
claim, enter any additional credit 
received from previously filed 
amended 2009 140ET claims. 

 
 
 
2. 

3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the total. 
 

 
3. 

4. If this is not your first amended 
claim, enter any amount of credit 
you repaid with previously filed 
amended 2009 140ET claims. 

 
 
 
4. 

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. Enter 
the result here and on Form 
140ET, line 15. 

 
 
5. 

 
Line 16 - 
 
If line 14 is larger than line 15, subtract line 15 from line 14. 
Enter the result. 
 
This is the amount of additional credit you will receive as a 
refund if you owe no other taxes. 
 
Line 17 - 
 
If line 14 is less than line 15, subtract line 14 from line 15. 
Enter the result. 
 
This is the amount of the credit that you must repay to the 
state. 
 
Enclose your check with Form 140ET, but do not attach 
your check to the Form 140ET. Make checks payable to: 
Arizona Department of Revenue. Write your SSN on the 
check. 
 
Before Filing 
 
Check to make sure that your math is correct. 
 
Sign your claim in the space provided on the bottom of the 
form. 
 
Mail your claim to the address listed on page 1 of these 
instructions. 
 
If amending a claim for a year before 2009, call one of the 
numbers listed on page 1 of these instructions. 


