FAQs  |  Contact Us  |  Site Map    skip navigation
AZ.gov Arizona's Official Web Site
State of Arizona
Department of Revenue

TPT Simplification

The Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR) and Arizona’s Cities and Towns continue to work together to achieve the goal of simplifying the manner in which taxpayers report and pay their Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT).  Due to the complexity in incorporating the City’s requirements into the Department’s information technology system, ADOR will not be the single point of licensing, filing and payment of all TPT on January 1, 2016, as originally planned.

For 2016, taxpayers will continue to file transaction privilege taxes to the state and most municipalities as they do today. Sedona will become a Program City as of January 1, 2016 (Program Cities are the cities for which the ADOR licenses and collects TPT). Taxpayers located in Sedona will report and pay their TPT to the State. The cities of Apache Junction, Avondale, Chandler, Douglas, Flagstaff, Glendale, Mesa, Nogales, Peoria, Phoenix, Prescott, Scottsdale, Tempe, and Tucson will continue to administer their own privilege taxes through the 2016 calendar year.