
To better serve you, the Arizona Department of Revenue 
offers online assistance and filing of your business taxes. 
To file your taxes online or to register to use the website, 
go to www.AZTaxes.gov.  

In case of inconsistency, error, or omission in this 
publication, the language of the Arizona Revised Statutes 
and the Arizona Administrative Code will prevail. 

Who May Have to Post a Taxpayer Bond? 
Note: The bonds referred to in this publication should 
not be confused with a Performance Bond. 
Certain Transaction Privilege Tax license applicants 

who will engage in contracting. 
Certain prime contractors who have construction 

contracts valued at $50,000 or more. 
 Persons who are delinquent in paying Arizona taxes or 

have a history of delinquency. 

Taxpayer Bond Requirements for 
Contractors Applying for New Licenses 
Which new applicants must post a bond? 
Contractors that must be licensed with the Registrar of 
Contractors or licensed as dealers of manufactured 
housing (mobile homes) must post a bond with the 
Department of Revenue before a Transaction Privilege 
Tax license will be issued unless the contractor qualifies 
for an exemption from the bonding requirement. 

How does a new applicant request an 
exemption from the bonding requirement?  
A new applicant in the construction business may apply 
for an exemption from the bonding requirement.  To 
apply for an exemption, a new applicant must complete 
and submit the Department of Revenue’s Transaction 
Privilege Tax License Application for Bond Exemption.  
The contractor must include documentation with the 
exemption request that shows that the contractor is 
entitled to an exemption.  Documentation may be any of 
the following: 
 If the taxpayer has been in business for at least 2 

years immediately preceding the request, the 
contractor should submit statements from an 
authorized state employee from each state in which 
the business has been licensed in the last two years.  
These statements must verify that the taxpayer has, 
for at least 2 years immediately preceding the date 
of the statement, made timely payment of all sales 
taxes and other transaction privilege taxes incurred. 
If any of the statements show any late or insufficient 
payments, the contractor must also include an 
explanation of good cause for any late or 
insufficient payment. 

 Documentation that verifies that no potential for 
Arizona tax liability exists. 

 A bond for a previously issued Arizona transaction 
privilege tax license that covers the liability for the 
previous license and the new license.  

Note: If your exemption request is denied you have the 
right to an appeal. All appeals must be made in writing. 

What amount of bond must a new applicant 
post?  
The primary type of contracting being performed 
determines what amount of bond to post.  An applicant 
who does not qualify for an exemption from the bonding 
requirement must post a bond for the amount indicated 
below:  

Required Type of Contracting 
Bond Amount Being Performed 
$  2,000 General contractors of residential 

buildings, other than single family 
housing; operative builders; plumbing, air 
conditioning, and heating; painting, paper 
hanging, decorating; electrical work, 
masonry stonework and other stonework; 
plastering, drywall, acoustical and 
insulation work, terrazzo, tile, marble and 
mosaic work; carpentry; floor laying and 
other floor work; roofing and sheet metal 
work; concrete work, water well drilling, 
structural steel erection; glass and glazing 
work; excavating and foundation work; 
wrecking and demolition work; 
installation and erection of building 
equipment; special trade contractors; and 
manufactures of mobile homes. 

$  7,000 General contractors of single family 
housing, water, sewer, pipeline, 
communication and power-line 
construction. 

$ 17,000 General contractors of industrial building 
and warehouses; of non-residential 
buildings; and highways and street 
construction except elevated highways. 

$ 22,000 Heavy construction not elsewhere 
classified (e.g. dams, golf courses, land 
drainage, etc.). 

$102,000 Bridge, tunnel and elevated highway 
construction. 

How long must a new applicant maintain a 
bond? 
An applicant in the contracting business must maintain a 
bond for a minimum of 2 years.  The department will 
not require the applicant to obtain a new bond if the 
taxpayer timely pays all taxes due for that 2 year period.  
If the taxpayer has deposited cash, a certificate of 
deposit, or a U.S. Treasury bond with the department, 
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the taxpayer must submit a request for refund of the 
bond in writing.  The taxpayer may use Arizona 
Department of Revenue  Bond Release Request for 
Contractors.  

Taxpayer Bond Requirements for Prime 
Contractors Who Have Construction 
Contracts Valued at $50,000 or More  
Which prime contractors must post a bond? 
An out-of-state contractor, or an in state contractor that 
has been in business for less than 12 months, must post 
a bond if the contractor enters into a prime construction 
contract valued at $50,000 or more to be performed in 
Arizona.  The contractor must post a bond unless the 
contractor qualifies for an exemption from the bonding 
requirement. 

When a contractor posts the bond, the contractor must 
submit a copy of the contract with the bond. The 
department will provide the contractor with a receipt 
that shows that the bond requirement has been met, or 
the department may issue an exemption for a specified 
contract. 

When applying for a building permit for construction 
projects over $50,000, contractors must provide local 
building authorities with a Department of Revenue 
issued certificate to verify that the bond requirement has 
been met, or the department will issue a one-time 
exemption to the building authority indicating that there 
was no bond required. 

Can a contractor receive an exemption from 
the bonding requirement?  
The department issues annual exemption certificates to 
all qualified contractors based on timely reporting and 
length of time in Arizona. Contractors who were not 
issued an annual exemption certificate but think they 
should have received one are advised to contact the 
License and Registration Section. The department may 
also issue a one-time exemption certificate for 
individual projects 

What amount of bond must a contractor post?  
A contractor required to post a bond for a contract of 
over $50,000 must calculate the amount of the bond.  
The taxpayer should compute the amount of bond using 
the following worksheet. 
Gross value of the contract  ___________  
Enter the value of land included  
in the contract  ___________  
Subtract line 2 from line 1  ___________  
Multiply line 3 by 35 percent (.35)  ___________  
Subtract line 4 from line 3  ___________  
Multiply line 5 by the tax rate  ___________  

If the value of the contract increases or decreases 10 
percent or more after the bond is submitted, the 
contractor must notify the Department of Revenue 
within 14 days and make an appropriate adjustment in 
the bond. 

Must a contractor post a bond for a contract of 
over $50,000 when the contractor has posted a 
bond as a new license applicant? 
An out-of-state contractor that has a current bond on file 
as a new applicant may also have to post a bond for a 
contract of over $50,000. The department will credit 
any bond submitted when the license was originally 
issued against the requirement for a bond for a contract 
of over $50,000. 

How long must a contractor maintain a bond 
for a contract of over $50,000? 
Bonds submitted by contractors for contracts over 
$50,000 must be maintained until the taxes have been 
paid for that particular project.  If the taxpayer has 
deposited cash, a certificate of deposit, or a U.S. 
Treasury bond with the department, the taxpayer must 
submit a request for refund of the bond in writing. The 
taxpayer may use Arizona Department of Revenue’s  
Bond Release Request for Contractors.  

Bond Requirements for Delinquent 
Taxpayers 
Which delinquent taxpayers must post a bond? 
 The department may require a taxpayer that is 

delinquent in payment of Arizona tax to post a 
bond.  The department may also require a taxpayer 
that has had a history of delinquency for a previous 
business license to post a bond for payment of tax 
(transaction privilege, withholding, or corporate).  If 
the taxpayer is filing on a quarterly basis or less 
frequent basis, the department will consider the 
taxpayer to be delinquent if the taxpayer has had 2 
or more delinquencies in remitting tax during the 
preceding 24 months. If the taxpayer is filing on a 
monthly basis or more frequent basis, the 
department will consider the taxpayer to be 
delinquent if the taxpayer has had 4 or more 
delinquencies during the preceding 24 months.  The 
department may also require a taxpayer to post a 
bond under any of the following circumstances.  

 The department investigates the financial status of a 
new license applicant and determines that the 
applicant would not be able to timely remit amounts 
due. 

 A new license applicant held a license for a prior 
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business and had a delinquent remittance record for 
that prior business. 

 The department experienced collection problems 
while a new license applicant was engaged in 
business under a prior license. 

 A new license applicant had a previous license 
revoked. 

 A new license applicant is substantially similar to a 
person who would have been required to post a 
bond because of delinquencies.  An applicant is 
substantially similar if it is owned or controlled by 
persons who owned or controlled a previous 
licensee. 

How will a delinquent taxpayer know if a bond 
is required? 
The department will notify a delinquent taxpayer if a 
bond is required. If a taxpayer receives a notice from the 
department, the taxpayer has 5 days to either post the 
bond, or to send in a written request for a hearing. 

What amount of bond must a delinquent 
taxpayer post?  
 The amount of bond or security required is the 

greater of $500 or, for: 

 A monthly filer, 4 times the average monthly tax 
liability. 

 A quarterly filer, 6 times the average monthly tax 
liability. 

 An annual filer, 14 times the average monthly tax 
liability. 

 The average monthly tax liability is based on the 
licensee’s average monthly tax due for the 
preceding six months.  If a taxpayer does not have a 
6 month payment history, the bond amount will be a 
minimum of $500. 

How long must a delinquent taxpayer maintain 
a bond? 
If the taxpayer maintains a good filing and payment 
record for a period of 2 years, the taxpayer may request 
that the department waive the continued bond 
requirement.  The taxpayer must submit a request for 
release in writing.  The taxpayer may use Arizona 
Department of Revenue’s Bond Release Request for 
Contractors.  

 

 

For Taxpayer Bond Information, call: 
Phoenix  ............................................... (602) 716-6056 

For Transaction Privilege Tax  
Information, call: 

Phoenix ............................................... (602) 255-3381 
Toll free from area codes 520 & 928  . (800) 843-4090 

Or Write to: 
Arizona Department of Revenue 

Taxpayer Information & Assistance 
1600 W Monroe 

Phoenix AZ 85007 

For Related Tax Information: 
Internet Address .................................. www.azdor.gov 
 www.AZTaxes.gov 

This publication is available in an alternative format upon request. 
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