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Phone Numbers 

If you have questions, please call one of the following numbers: 
Phoenix (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free (800) 352-4090 
Hearing impaired TDD user 
Phoenix (602) 542-4021 
From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free (800) 397-0256 

You may also visit our web site at: www.azdor.gov 

Who Should Use Form 140ES 
All of the following should use Form 140ES: 
 An individual making a voluntary or mandatory 

estimated payment. 
 A partnership making a voluntary estimated payment on 

behalf of its nonresident individual partners 
participating in the filing of a composite return. 

 An S corporation making a voluntary estimated payment on 
behalf of its nonresident individual shareholders 
participating in the filing of a composite return. 

General Information 
 Please type or print your name, SSN, and current 

address. If you are married making a joint estimated 
payment, enter your SSNs in the same order as your 
first names and in the same order as they will be shown 
on your joint Arizona income tax return. 

 If you are a partnership or S corporation using Form 
140ES to make a voluntary estimated income tax payment 
for its nonresident partners or shareholders participating in 
the filing of a composite income tax return, enter the 
partnership’s or S corporation’s EIN in the area 
designated for an individual’s SSN. 

 Complete Form 140ES using black ink. 
 Once you make an estimated payment, you must file a tax 

return for that year in order to claim the estimated payment.  
 You must round each estimated payment to whole 

dollars (no cents). 
 Use Tax Table X or Y (in the 2011 tax instruction 

booklet) to help estimate this year's tax liability. Figure 
this tax on your total annual income. 

The department will charge you a penalty if you fail to make 
any required estimated payment. Use Form 221, 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, to figure the 
amount of this penalty.  The penalty is equal to the interest 
that would accrue on the underpayment. The penalty cannot 
be more than 10% of the underpayment. 

Required Payments 
Arizona requires certain individuals to make estimated 
income tax payments. 
You must make Arizona estimated income tax payments 
during 2012 if: 
Your filing status 
is: 

AND 
Your Arizona gross 
income for 2011 
was greater than: 

AND 
Your Arizona 
gross income for 
2012 exceeds: 

Married Filing 
Joint 

$150,000 $150,000 

Single $75,000 $75,000 
Head of 
Household 

$75,000 $75,000 

Married Filing 
Separately 

$75,000 $75,000 

If you met the income threshold for 2011, you must make 
estimated payments during 2012 unless you are sure you 
will not meet the threshold for 2012. 

What is Arizona Gross Income for the 
Purpose of Estimated Income Tax 
Payments? 
If you are a full year resident, your Arizona gross income is 
your federal adjusted gross income.   

If you are a part-year resident, your Arizona gross income 
is that part of your federal adjusted gross income that you 
must report to Arizona.  

If you are a nonresident, your Arizona gross income is that 
part of your federal adjusted gross income derived from 
Arizona sources.  

How Much Should My Estimated Payments 
Total? 
If you have to make estimated payments, your payments, 
when added to your Arizona withholding, must total either 
90% of the tax due for 2012, or 100% of the tax due for 2011. 
You can use your 2011 tax to figure the amount of payments 
that you must make during 2012 only if you were required 
to file and did file a 2011 Arizona income tax return. 

When Should I Make My Estimated 
Payments? 
For the most part, you must make your payments in four 
equal installments.  

Payments for calendar year filers are due as follows: 
Payment 1 April 15, 2012 – Because April 15, 2012 

falls on a Sunday and April 16, 2012 is a 
legal holiday in Washington DC, you have 
until April 17, 2012 to make this payment.  
If you do not pay by April 17, you may be 
subject to a penalty starting on April 16th. 

Payment 2 June 15, 2012 
Payment 3 September 15, 2012 – Because September 

15 falls on a Saturday, you have until 
September 17, 2012 to make this payment.  
If you do not pay by September 17, you 
may be subject to a penalty starting on 
September 16th. 

Payment 4 January 15, 2013 
For fiscal years, the payments are due on the 15th day of the 
fourth, sixth and ninth months of the current fiscal year, and 
the first month of the next fiscal year.  If the due date falls 
on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, you may file by 
midnight on the next day following that day. 
If 1 through 3 below apply, you do not have to make your 
payments in four equal installments. 
1. File and pay by January 31, 2013.  If you file your 
Arizona return by January 31, 2013, and pay in full the 
amount stated on the return as payable, you do not have to 
make the fourth estimated tax payment. Fiscal year filers 
must file and pay by the last day of the month following the 
close of the fiscal year.  

2. Farmer or fisherman. If you report as a farmer or 
fisherman for federal purposes, you only have to make one 
installment for a taxable year. The due date for this 
installment for a calendar year filer is January 15, 2013. The 
due date for a fiscal year filer is the 15th day of the first 
month after the end of a fiscal year. There is no requirement 
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to make this payment if you file your Arizona return on or 
before March 1, 2013, and pay in full the amount stated on 
the return as payable. Fiscal year filers must file and pay on 
or before the first day of the third month after the end of the 
fiscal year. 

3. Nonresident alien. If you are an individual who elects to 
be treated as a nonresident alien on the federal income tax 
return, you may make three estimated payments. The due 
dates for these installments are June 15, 2012, September 
15, 2012, and January 15, 2013. The first installment must 
equal 50% of your total required payments.  You may make 
the September 15 payment on September 17 since the 15th 
falls on a Saturday. 

Voluntary Payments 

An individual who does not have to make Arizona estimated 
income tax payments may choose to make them. Taxpayers 
who make such an election may choose one of the following 
methods to make their payments. 
Method 1: If you file federal estimated tax, you can file an 
Arizona Estimated Tax Payment Form 140ES at the same 
time. The amount that you remit with Form 140ES should be 
10%, 15%, or 20% of the amount that you paid on the 
federal Form 1040-ES. 

Method 2: You may file installments using Arizona 
Estimated Tax Payment Form 140ES. 

Payments for calendar year filers are due as follows: 
Payment 1 April 15, 2012 – Because April 15, 2012 

falls on a Sunday and April 16, 2012 is a 
legal holiday in Washington DC, you have 
until April 17, 2012 to make this payment. 

Payment 2 June 15, 2012 
Payment 3 September 15, 2012 – Because September 

15 falls on a Saturday, you have until 
September 17, 2012 to make this payment.   

Payment 4 January 15, 2013 

If you are a fiscal year filer, use the due dates established for 
federal filing. 

The sum of the amounts remitted should equal your 
estimated end-of-tax-year liability. 

Method 3: You may file an Arizona Estimated Tax Payment 
Form 140ES with a single, lump-sum payment before 
January 15, 2013. The payment should reflect your 
estimated end-of-tax-year liability. 

Record of Estimated Payments 
Payment # Date Made Amount  

Amount of 2011 
overpayment 
applied to 2012 
estimated tax 

  

1   
2   
3   
4   

 Total:  

Sending Your Payment 

Individuals may make estimated payments by check, electronic 
check, money order, or credit card.  Partnerships or S 
corporations making estimated payments on behalf of 
nonresidents participating in the filing of a composite return 
must make those payments by check or money order. 

Check or money order 

Fill in the amount of your payment on Form 140ES.  Round 
your payment to the nearest dollar.  Your payment is the 
amount you figured using the worksheet for computing 
estimated payments.   

Make your check payable to Arizona Department of 
Revenue and mail your check along with Form 140ES to: 

Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 29085 
Phoenix, AZ 85038-9085. 

The department cannot accept checks or money orders in 
foreign currency.  You must make payment in U.S. dollars. 

Electronic payment from your checking or savings 
account 

NOTE: You may not make an electronic payment from your 
checking or savings account if the payment will ultimately be 
coming from a foreign account.  In this case, you must pay by 
check or money order.  

You can pay your 2012 estimated tax with an electronic 
payment from your checking or savings account.  There is 
no fee to use this method.  To make an electronic payment, 
go to www.aztaxes.gov and click on the “Make a Payment” 
link. The “E-Check” option in the “Payment Method” drop-
down box will debit the amount from the checking or 
savings account that you specify. If you make an electronic 
payment from your checking or savings account, you will 
receive a confirmation number. Please keep this 
confirmation number as proof of payment. 

NOTE:  If you are paying by electronic check, do not use 
Form 140ES.  We will apply your estimated tax payment to 
your account.  You must claim the estimated payment on 
your original return when you file. 

Credit card payment 

You can pay your 2012 estimated tax through a third-party 
service provider using your Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or 
American Express credit card.  Go to www.aztaxes.gov, 
click on the “Make a Payment” link and choose the credit 
card option.  This will take you to a third party vendor site.  
The provider will charge you a convenience fee based on the 
amount of your tax payment.  If you accept the credit card 
transaction, you will receive a confirmation number. Please 
keep this confirmation number as proof of payment. 

NOTE:  If you are paying by credit card, do not use Form 
140ES.  We will apply your estimated tax payment to your 
account.  You must claim the estimated payment on your 
original return when you file. 


