
2011 Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File Arizona Form 
Corporation, Partnership, and Exempt Organization Returns 120EXT 
 

Obtain additional information or assistance by calling one of 
the numbers listed below: 
 

Phoenix      (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 352-4090 
Hearing impaired TDD user 
 Phoenix     (602) 542-4021 
 From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 397-0256 
 

Obtain tax rulings, tax procedures, tax forms and instructions, 
and other tax information by accessing the department's 
Internet home page at www.azdor.gov. 
 

General Instructions 
 

Use of Form 
 

 Use Form 120EXT only to apply for an extension of 
time to file Forms 99, 99T, 120, 120A, 120S, and 165. 

 

 Form 120S and Form 165 filers: Use Form 204 to apply 
for an extension of time to file a composite return for 
nonresident individual shareholders or nonresident 
individual partners on Form 140NR. 

 

 The department may grant an automatic Arizona extension if: 
(a) the taxpayer pays at least 90 percent of the tax liability 
by the original due date of the return, and (b) Form 120EXT 
is postmarked or received by the original due date of the 
return. The extension application will be denied if the 
extension application is postmarked after the original due 
date of the return. A copy of Form 120EXT will be returned 
to the taxpayer only if the extension application is denied. 

 

NOTE: Effective for returns due for taxable years beginning 
January 1, 2009 and later, the automatic extension for 
partnerships filing Form 165 is five months. Refer to Arizona 
Partnership Tax Ruling PTR 09-1. 
 

 The taxpayer must use Form 120EXT to remit an extension 
payment via check or money order, whether the taxpayer uses 
a valid federal extension or requests an Arizona extension. 
Internet payments can be made by electronic check or credit 
card at www.aztaxes.gov and do not require the filing of this 
form, unless the taxpayer is requesting an Arizona extension. 

 

 Form 120EXT or a valid federal extension provides an 
extension of time to file, but does not provide an 
extension of time to pay.  

 

Acceptance of Federal Extension 
 

The taxpayer can use a valid federal extension rather than 
applying for an Arizona extension. The taxpayer must pay at 
least 90 percent of the tax liability by the original due date of 
the return. Refer to the instructions for line 1 (extension 
payment computation) for further information on the payment 
amount. A taxpayer that uses a federal extension of time to 
file must use Form 120EXT to remit an extension payment 
via check or money order. Mail Form 120EXT and the 
extension payment to the payment address shown on the form. 
 

NOTE: Federal extensions are valid for a period of time (i.e. 
three, five or six months) and extend an original Arizona due date 
by the same period of time. In some cases, the Arizona extended 
due date will take place after the federal extended due date. 

Tax Return Original Due Dates 
 

Form 99: 
15th day of fifth month following close of taxable year. 
 

Form 99T: 
15th day of fifth month following close of taxable year. 
 

Form 120: 
15th day of fourth month following close of taxable year. 
 

Form 120A: 
15th day of fourth month following close of taxable year. 
 

Form 120S: 
15th day of third month following close of taxable year. 
 

Form 165: 
15th day of fourth month following close of taxable year. 
Penalties and Interest 
 

A. Late Filing Penalty. A return filed after the original due 
date is subject to the late filing penalty unless the taxpayer has 
a valid federal or Arizona extension. A return filed after its 
extended due date is also subject to the late filing penalty. The 
late filing penalty is 4½ percent (.045) of the amount of tax 
required to be shown on the return. “Amount of tax required to 
be shown on the return” is the amount of tax imposed less the 
amount of any part of the tax paid on or before the beginning 
of the month and the amount of any credit against the tax 
which may be claimed on the return. The penalty period is each 
month or fraction of a month between the due date of the return 
and the date the taxpayer filed the return. The maximum 
penalty is 25 percent of the tax found to be remaining due. 
 

B. Extension Underpayment Penalty. The taxpayer must 
pay at least 90 percent of the tax liability disclosed by its 
return on or before the original due date of the return. The 
department imposes the extension underpayment penalty on 
any late or underpaid extension payments. The extension 
underpayment penalty is one-half of one percent (.005) of the 
tax not paid. The penalty period is each 30 day period or 
fraction thereof between the original due date of the return 
and the date the taxpayer paid the tax. The maximum penalty 
is 25 percent of the unpaid tax. Taxpayers subject to the 
extension underpayment penalty are not subject to the late 
payment penalty prescribed under ARS § 42-1125(D). 
 

C. Late Payment Penalty. The department imposes the late 
payment penalty on any amount shown as tax on a return that is 
not paid by the date prescribed for its payment. “Amount of tax 
shown on the return” is the amount of tax imposed shown on 
the return less the amount of any part of the tax paid on or 
before the beginning of the month and the amount of any credit 
against the tax which may be claimed on the return. The late 
payment penalty is one-half of one percent (.005) of the unpaid 
tax for each month or fraction of a month that the tax remains 
unpaid, not to exceed 10 percent of the unpaid tax.  
 

NOTE: If more than one of the penalties described in A, B, 
or C apply, the maximum combined penalty is 25 percent.   
 

Refer to Arizona Corporate Income Tax Ruling CTR 09-1 
regarding the application of penalties to returns filed under 
extension.  
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D. Information Return Penalty. An information return that 
is incomplete or filed after its due date (including extensions) 
is subject to a $100 penalty for each month, or fraction of a 
month, that the failure continues, up to a maximum penalty of 
$500.  This applies to Form 99 and Form 165.  It also applies 
to Form 120S when no tax liability is due.  
 

E. Interest. The department assesses interest on any portion of 
the tax, whether determined by the department or the taxpayer, 
not paid by the date prescribed for its payment. The department 
applies interest, compounded annually, in the same manner and 
at the same times as prescribed by Internal Revenue Code 
§ 6621 with the following exception. Exception: The Arizona 
rate of interest for both underpayments and overpayments for 
all taxpayers is the federal underpayment rate under IRC 
§ 6621(a)(2) [the federal short-term rate, determined pursuant 
to IRC § 6621(b), plus three percentage points]. On January 1 
of each year, the department adds any interest outstanding as of 
that date to the principal amount of the tax. It is then a part of 
the principal amount of the tax and accrues interest until paid. 
 

Rounding Dollar Amounts 
 

Taxpayers must round amounts to the nearest whole dollar. If 
50 cents or more, round up to the next dollar. If less than 50 
cents, round down. 
 

Extension Payment Computation 
(Form 99T, 120, 120A, and 120S filers only) 
 

NOTE: Refer to the tax form and its instructions for information 
regarding the computation of the tax liability (including the $50 
minimum tax). 
 

Line 1 -  
 

Form 120 filers: Begin the tax liability computation on page 1, 
line 16 of the 2011 Form 120. The amount entered on Form 
120EXT, line 1, should equal the amount computed for the 
2011 Form 120, page 1, line 24, less the amount computed for 
line 25. Reduce this amount by the claim of right adjustments, 
if applicable. If the amount is less than zero, enter zero. 
 

Form 120A filers: Begin the tax liability computation on 
page 1, line 8 of the 2011 Form 120A. The amount entered 
on Form 120EXT, line 1, should equal the amount computed 
for the 2011 Form 120A, page 1, line 16, less the amount 
computed for line 17. Reduce this amount by the claim of right 
adjustments, if applicable. If the amount is less than zero, 
enter zero. 
 

Form 120S filers: The S corporation itself is subject to tax 
(including the $50 minimum tax) only if it has income or (loss) 
subject to tax at the corporate level on the federal Form 1120-S. 
Income subject to tax is excess net passive income, capital gains, 
or certain built-in gains, reported on Form 120S, page 1, lines 2 
and 3. 
 

Begin the tax liability computation on page 1, line 12 of the 
2011 Form 120S. The amount entered on Form 120EXT, line 1, 
should equal the amount computed for the 2011 Form 120S, 
page 1, line 20, less the amount computed for line 21.  
 

Form 99T filers: The amount entered on Form 120EXT, line 
1, should equal the amount computed for the 2011 Form 99T, 
page 1, line 7. 

Line 4 -  
 

Form 120, 120A, 120S and 99T filers: The taxpayer must pay at 
least 90 percent of its tax liability by the original due date of the 
return. If the estimated tax payments reported on line 2 are less 
than 90 percent of the amount on line 1, the taxpayer must make 
an extension payment. Payments can be made via check, 
electronic check, money order, or credit card. 
 

Check or money order 
 

Make checks payable to Arizona Department of Revenue. 
Write the taxpayer's EIN on the front of the check or money 
order. Include the check or money order with the extension 
request.   
 

Internet Payments 
 

Corporate taxpayers must be licensed by the Department of 
Revenue before they can register to pay taxes online. Visit 
www.aztaxes.gov to register and make payments over the internet. 
 

Electronic payment from checking or savings account 
 

Payments can be made electronically from a checking or savings 
account. Visit www.aztaxes.gov and choose the e-check option.  
There is no fee to use this method. This payment method will debit 
the amount from the specified checking or savings account on the 
date specified. If an electronic payment is made from a checking 
or savings account, a confirmation number will be generated. 
Please keep this confirmation number as proof of payment. 
 

Credit card payment 
 

Payments can be made via American Express, Discover, 
MasterCard or VISA credit cards. Visit www.aztaxes.gov and 
choose the credit card option. This will take you to the website 
of the credit card payment service provider. The service 
provider will charge a convenience fee based on the amount of 
the tax payment. The service provider will disclose the amount 
of the convenience fee during the transaction and the option to 
continue or cancel the transaction will be presented. If you 
accept the convenience fee and complete the credit card 
transaction, a confirmation number will be generated. Please 
keep this confirmation number as proof of payment. 
 

Who May Sign Form 120EXT 
 

The person authorized to sign Form 120EXT may be: 
 

 a duly authorized agent holding a power of attorney; 
 

 a principal officer of the organization for Form 99 and 
Form 99T filers; 

 

 a principal officer of the corporation for Form 120, 120A, 
and 120S filers; and 

 

 a general partner authorized to file the partnership return 
for Form 165 filers. 

 

Mailing Arizona Extension Requests 
 

If you are including a payment with the Arizona extension request, 
mail the request and payment to: Arizona Department of Revenue, 
PO Box 29085, Phoenix, AZ  85038-9085. If you are mailing the 
request without a payment, mail the request to: Arizona Department 
of Revenue, PO Box 29079, Phoenix, AZ  85038-9079. 
 

The extension request must be postmarked by the original due date 
of the return. Mark "Extension Request" on the envelope. No copy 
will be returned to the taxpayer unless the request is denied. Keep a 
copy of Form 120EXT for the taxpayer's records. 


