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Obtain additional information or assistance by calling one of 
the numbers listed below: 
 

Phoenix   (602) 255-2060 
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free  (800) 843-7196 
Hearing impaired TDD user 
 Phoenix   (602) 542-4021 
 From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free  (800) 397-0256 
 

Obtain tax rulings, tax procedures, tax forms and instructions, 
and other tax information by accessing the department's Internet 
home page at www.azdor.gov. 
 

 

General Instructions 
 

Who May Use Form A1-QRT 
 

An employer must make its Arizona withholding payments to 
the department either on a quarterly basis or at the same time as 
the employer makes its federal withholding deposits. An 
employer must file a quarterly withholding tax return with the 
department to report its Arizona withholding tax liability. 
 

An employer incurs an Arizona withholding tax liability either 
quarterly, or on the same dates as it incurs a federal 
withholding liability (monthly, semi-weekly, or one-banking 
day). An employer must determine when it incurs an Arizona 
withholding tax liability to establish its correct Arizona 
withholding payment schedule. An employer makes this 
determination by calculating its average Arizona withholding 
tax liability for the four preceding calendar quarters or by using 
an alternate calculation if it does not have historical data for the 
preceding four calendar quarters. Both computations are 
discussed in the Arizona Withholding Liability/Payment 
Schedule section of these instructions. 
 

Form A1-QRT: Use the quarterly tax return if the liability is 
incurred on a quarterly, monthly, semi-weekly or one-banking 
day basis. A monthly liability employer that incurs a one-
banking day liability during the calendar quarter immediately 
becomes an Arizona semi-weekly liability employer for the 
remainder of the calendar quarter.  
 

EXCEPTION FOR ANNUAL PAYMENT RETURN (Form 
A1-APR): Certain employers may make their withholding 
payments on an annual basis and file an annual withholding tax 
return on Form A1-APR. These employers will not file Form 
A1-QRT or Form A1-R, or use Form A1-WP for their 
withholding payments. 
 

An employer may make its Arizona withholding payments on 
an annual basis if all of the following conditions are met: 
 

 The employer has established a history of withholding 
activity by filing the quarterly tax return (Form A1-QRT) 
for at least the four preceding calendar quarters. 

 

 The employer's withholding liability was an amount greater 
than zero for at least one of the four preceding calendar 
quarters. 

 

 The average amount of Arizona income taxes withheld by 
the employer in the four preceding calendar quarters does 
not exceed $200. The employer will meet this average 

withholding requirement if the total amount withheld in 
the four preceding calendar quarters is $800 or less. 

 

 The employer has timely filed Form A1-QRT and has 
timely made its Arizona withholding payments for at least 
three of the four preceding calendar quarters. 

 

 The employer has filed Form A1-QRT for all preceding 
calendar quarters and does not have a balance due (tax, 
penalty, or interest) for any preceding calendar quarter. 

 

 The employer has filed the annual reconciliation tax return 
(Form A1-R) for all preceding calendar years and has 
timely filed Form A1-R for the preceding calendar year. 

 

An employer may continue to make its Arizona withholding 
payments on an annual basis for the succeeding calendar year 
if all of the following conditions are met: 
 

 The average amount of Arizona income taxes withheld by 
the employer in the four preceding calendar quarters does 
not exceed $200. 

 

 The employer has timely filed the annual tax return and has 
timely made its annual Arizona withholding payment for 
the preceding calendar year. 

 

If an employer does not meet all of the qualifying conditions to 
continue making its Arizona withholding payments on an 
annual basis for the succeeding calendar year: 
 

 The employer must determine its Arizona withholding 
payment schedule for succeeding calendar quarters 
according to the instructions in the Arizona Withholding 
Liability/Payment Schedule section; and 

 

 The employer shall file the quarterly tax return (Form 
A1-QRT) for succeeding calendar quarters. 

 

Penalties and Interest 
 

A. Late Filing Penalty. A return filed after the due date is 
subject to the late filing penalty. The late filing penalty is 4½ 
percent (.045) of the amount of tax required to be shown on the 
return. “Amount of tax required to be shown on the return” is the 
amount of tax imposed less the amount of any part of the tax paid 
on or before the beginning of the month. The penalty period is 
each month or fraction of a month between the due date of the 
return and the date the taxpayer filed the return. The maximum 
penalty is 25 percent of the tax found to be remaining due. 
 

B. Late Payment Penalty. The department imposes the late 
payment penalty on any amount shown as tax on the return that 
is not paid by the date prescribed for its payment. The late 
payment penalty is ½ percent (.005) of the unpaid tax for each 
month or fraction of a month the tax remains unpaid, not to 
exceed 10 percent of the unpaid tax. 
 

NOTE: If both of the penalties described in A and B apply, the 
maximum combined penalty is 25 percent. 
 

C. Additional Failure to Pay Penalty. An employer is 
required to withhold Arizona income tax from compensation 
paid to an employee for services performed in Arizona, unless 
the compensation is exempt from Arizona withholding by 
Arizona law. The amount of tax required to be withheld is 
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specified in Title 43, Chapter 4 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. 
The department may impose a penalty if the amount of tax 
required to be withheld, whether the amount of tax is 
determined by the employer or the department, is not paid to 
the department by the date prescribed for its payment. The 
amount of the penalty is 25 percent of the amount of tax 
required to be withheld and paid to the department. 
 

D. Payroll Service Company Penalty. Beginning for withholding 
tax returns due to be filed from and after May 31, 2011, a payroll 
service company, as defined in ARS § 43-418(E)(3), is subject to a 
$25 penalty for failure to make withholding payments electronically 
and a $25 penalty for failure to filed withholding returns 
electronically. Multiple $25 penalties could apply to the same client 
on one return. For example, if Client A is required to make four 
payments in the 3rd quarter, and none of the payments are made 
electronically, the payroll service company would be subject to four 
$25 penalties, a total of $100. If the payroll service company files 
the quarterly reconciliation for Client A by paper, an additional 
penalty of $25 would apply for a grand total of $125 in penalties 
assessed toward the payroll service company related to Client A for 
the 3rd quarter. 
 

E. Interest. The department assesses interest on any portion of the 
tax, whether determined by the department or the employer/taxpayer, 
not paid by the date prescribed for its payment. The department 
applies interest, compounded annually, in the same manner and at the 
same times as prescribed by Internal Revenue Code § 6621 with the 
following exception. Exception: The Arizona rate of interest for both 
underpayments and overpayments for all taxpayers is the federal 
underpayment rate under IRC § 6621(a)(2) [the federal short-term 
rate, determined pursuant to IRC § 6621(b), plus three percentage 
points]. On January 1 of each year, the department adds any interest 
outstanding as of that date to the principal amount of the tax. It is then 
a part of the principal amount of the tax and accrues interest until 
paid. 
 

Arizona Withholding Liability/Payment 
Schedule 

 

Arizona law requires an employer to compute its average Arizona 
withholding tax liability for the preceding four calendar quarters at 
the beginning of each new quarter. This calculation is performed to 
determine the correct Arizona withholding payment schedule. 
 

An employer that has four full consecutive calendar quarters of 
Arizona withholding liability historical data must use the 
regular withholding payment schedule computation. An 
employer that does not have four full consecutive calendar 
quarters of Arizona withholding liability historical data must 
use the alternate withholding payment schedule computation. 
 

A. Regular Arizona Withholding Liability/Payment 
Schedule Computation 

 

An employer required to use the regular computation must add 
its withholding liabilities for the preceding four calendar 
quarters and divide the total by four. 
 

An employer must make its Arizona withholding payments on 
a quarterly basis if the average amount of Arizona income 
taxes withheld during the preceding four calendar quarters does 
not exceed $1,500. 
 

An employer must make its Arizona withholding tax payments 
at the same time as its federal withholding deposits if the 

average amount of Arizona income taxes withheld during the 
preceding four calendar quarters exceeds $1,500. 
 

Example 1 
An employer is trying to determine the correct Arizona withholding 
payment schedule for the second calendar quarter 2010. The employer 
would make the following calculation to compute the average amount of 
Arizona income taxes withheld in the preceding four calendar quarters. 
First quarter 2010 withholding     $ 1,100 
Fourth quarter 2009 withholding +       1,600 
Third quarter 2009 withholding +       1,000 
Second quarter 2009 withholding +       1,200 
Total withholding =    $ 4,900 
Divide by ÷              4 
Average withholding =    $ 1,225 
This example illustrates a four-quarter average of Arizona income 
taxes withheld that does not exceed $1,500. Therefore, the employer is 
required to make Arizona withholding payments on a quarterly basis. 

 
 

Example 2 
An employer is trying to determine the correct Arizona withholding 
payment schedule for the third calendar quarter 2010. The employer 
would make the following calculation to compute the average amount of 
Arizona income taxes withheld in the preceding four calendar quarters. 

Second quarter 2010 withholding     $ 1,800 
First quarter 2010 withholding +       1,400 
Fourth quarter 2009 withholding +       1,900 
Third quarter 2009 withholding +       1,300 
Total withholding =    $ 6,400 
Divide by ÷              4 
Average withholding =    $ 1,600 
This example illustrates a four-quarter average of Arizona 
income taxes withheld that exceeds $1,500. Therefore, the 
employer is required to make Arizona withholding payments at 
the same time as its federal withholding deposits. 

 

B. Alternate Arizona Withholding Liability/Payment 
Schedule Computation 

 

An employer must make its Arizona withholding payments on 
a quarterly basis if the average amount of Arizona income taxes 
withheld during the preceding four calendar quarters does not 
exceed $1,500. 
 

An employer must make its Arizona withholding tax payments 
at the same time as its federal withholding deposits (monthly, 
semi-weekly, or one-banking day), if the average amount of 
Arizona income taxes withheld during the preceding four 
calendar quarters exceeds $1,500. 
 

An employer required to use the alternate computation must use 
one of the following methods. 
 

An employer that purchases an existing business must 
determine its Arizona withholding payment schedule for each 
calendar quarter by calculating the average amount withheld in 
the four preceding calendar quarters as follows: 
 

 For the first quarter of withholding, the employer must 
calculate the previous owner's average amount of Arizona 
income taxes withheld in the four preceding calendar quarters. 
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 For the second through fourth quarters of withholding, the 
employer must calculate the average amount withheld in 
the four preceding calendar quarters by combining its prior 
quarters of withholding with the previous owner's quarters 
of withholding. 

 

 For subsequent quarters of withholding, the employer must 
add the amounts it withheld in the four preceding calendar 
quarters and then divide that sum by four. 

 

A newly formed business must determine its Arizona 
withholding payment schedule as follows: 
 

 For the first quarter of withholding, the employer must make 
its Arizona withholding payments on a quarterly basis. 

 

 For the second quarter of withholding, the employer must 
determine its Arizona withholding payment schedule based 
on the amount withheld in the first quarter of withholding. 

 

 For the third quarter of withholding, the employer must 
determine its Arizona withholding payment schedule by 
adding the amounts withheld in the first and second 
quarters and dividing by two. 

 

 For the fourth quarter of withholding, the employer must 
determine its Arizona withholding payment schedule by 
adding the amounts withheld in the first, second, and third 
quarters and dividing by three. 

 

 For subsequent quarters of withholding, the employer must 
determine its Arizona withholding payment schedule by 
adding the amounts withheld in the four preceding calendar 
quarters and dividing by four. 

 

When two or more employers consolidate their business 
activities to form one entity, the new employer must determine 
its Arizona withholding payment schedule based on the combined 
withholding of the prior employers for the preceding four full 
quarters. Any prior employer with fewer than four full quarters of 
withholding activity must annualize the amounts withheld and 
divide by four. The new employer must determine its Arizona 
withholding payment schedule by combining this amount with the 
quarterly averages of the other prior employers with four full 
quarters of withholding activity. 
 

C. Withholding Payment Due Dates 
 

Internet payments: Employers may make their withholding 
payments on the Internet. Go to www.aztaxes.gov for further 
information. 
 

Quarterly Arizona withholding payments are due on the 
following dates: 
 

 First calendar quarter - April 30;  
 

 Second calendar quarter - July 31; 
 

 Third calendar quarter - October 31; 
 

 Fourth calendar quarter - January 31. 
 

If the quarterly withholding payment due date is a non-banking 
day (Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday), the withholding 
payment is timely if made on the next banking day. 
 

An employer required to make its Arizona withholding 
payments at the same time as its federal withholding deposits 
must make its Arizona withholding payments on a monthly, 
semi-weekly, or one-banking day basis. 
 

Monthly Arizona withholding payments are due on the 
fifteenth day of the month following the calendar month in 
which the taxes accumulated. 
 

If the fifteenth day of the following month is a non-banking 
day (Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday), the withholding 
payment is timely if made on the next banking day. 
 

Semi-weekly Arizona withholding payments are due on the 
following schedule: 
 

 Wednesday through Friday semi-weekly period - on or before 
the following Wednesday. 

 

 Saturday through Tuesday semi-weekly period - on or before 
the following Friday.  

 

If any of the three weekdays following the close of a semi-weekly 
period is a non-banking day (a legal holiday), an additional 
banking day is granted to make the required payment. 
 

If a calendar quarter ends during a semi-weekly period (on a day 
other than Tuesday or Friday), the following rules apply: 
 

 Taxes accumulated on the days in the current calendar 
quarter are subject to one payment obligation. 

 

 Taxes accumulated on the days in the next calendar quarter 
are subject to a separate payment obligation. 

 

 The payment(s) is (are) due at the normal payment due date 
for the semi-weekly period. 

 

One-banking day Arizona withholding payments are due on the 
first banking day following the day that an employer incurs a 
federal one-banking day deposit obligation. The employer must 
make a one-banking day federal withholding deposit if federal 
taxes accumulate to $100,000 or more on any day during a 
monthly or semi-weekly deposit period. The Arizona 
withholding payment is due the same day as the federal 
withholding deposit although the Arizona withholding tax 
liability may not have reached $100,000 for the same monthly or 
semi-weekly period. A monthly liability payer that incurs an 
Arizona one-banking day withholding payment obligation during 
the calendar quarter immediately becomes an Arizona semi-
weekly liability payer for the remainder of the calendar quarter. 
 

Extended Form A1-QRT due dates available to taxpayers 
who have made every payment on time. ARS § 43-401(E) 
allows some employers additional time to file Form A1-QRT. 
Employers who have made every payment on time during the 
preceding calendar quarter may have ten additional days in 
which to file Form A1-QRT.  
 

Form A1-QRT, for employers who have not made every 
payment on time during the preceding calendar quarter, are 
timely filed if filed by the following dates:  
 

 First calendar quarter - May 2; 
 

 Second calendar quarter - August 1; 
 

 Third calendar quarter - October 31; 
 

 Fourth calendar quarter - January 31. 
 

Because April 30, 2011, and July 31, 2011, are each on a 
weekend day, the payment is timely for those quarters if it is 
made on the next banking day. 
 

Form A1-QRT filing due dates for employers who have made 
every payment on time during the preceding calendar quarter are: 
 

 First calendar quarter - May 10; 
 

 Second calendar quarter - August 10; 
 

 Third calendar quarter - November 10; 
 

 Fourth calendar quarter - February 10. 
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Specific Instructions 
 

Form A1-QRT may be filed online. Taxpayers that are licensed by 
the Arizona Department of Revenue and registered at 
www.aztaxes.gov may file Form A1-QRT and make withholding 
payments online. Visit www.aztaxes.gov for more details. 
 

All returns, statements, and other documents filed with the 
department require the taxpayer's employer identification number 
(taxpayer identification number or TIN). Taxpayers and their 
paid preparers that fail to include their TIN may be subject to a 
penalty. Paid tax return preparers must include their TIN where 
requested. The TIN for a paid tax return preparer is the 
individual's social security number, preparer identification 
number, or the employer identification number of their business. 
 

Refer to the sample Form A1-QRT on pages 6 and 7 of the 
instructions. The following numbered instructions correspond 
to the numbered sections of the sample Form A1-QRT. 
 

I. Taxpayer Information Section 
 

Business Name and Address/Address Changed 
Box 

 

Type or print the employer's name, address, and phone number in 
the boxes in the Taxpayer Information section. Check the box to 
indicate your address is changed. 
 

Amended Returns 
 

Check the amended return box on page 1 of the form if this 
is an amended return. Complete the amended return information 
section on page 2 of the form. If the amended return is being filed 
for a quarter in a prior year, the employer must also file an amended 
Form A1-R for that year and include the state copies of the federal 
Forms W-2c, or corrected copies of Forms W-2G and 1099-R.  
 

NOTE: An amended Form A1-QRT cannot be filed at 
www.aztaxes.gov. Taxpayers required to file an amended Form 
A1-QRT must file a paper return. 
 

Overpayments: After the amended return is processed and 
payments are confirmed, the overpayment will be applied to 
any outstanding liabilities, possibly in another tax type. If the 
overpayment exceeds the outstanding liabilities or the employer has 
no outstanding liabilities, a refund will be issued. A refund will not 
be issued once the overpayment is applied to a liability.  
 

Underpayments: Enclose payment for the underpaid amount 
with the amended return. The department will calculate the 
amount of interest and any applicable penalties and send a 
billing notice after the amended return is processed. 
 

Filing of Final Return Box/Cancellation of 
Employer's Withholding Account 

 

Check the final return box on page 1 of the form if this is a 
final return. Enter the date that final wages were paid. 
Complete the reason for cancellation of employer’s 
withholding account section on page 2 of the form. 
 

When an account is cancelled, the employer must file a final 
return on Form A1-QRT for the last quarter in which the final 
wages were paid. The employer must file a final return to report 
its Arizona tax liability for the quarter in which the account was 
closed. NOTE: The employer must also file Form A1-R, 
Arizona Withholding Reconciliation Return, for that year. 
 

Total Arizona Payroll for This Quarter 
 
 

Enter the total gross Arizona payroll for this calendar quarter. “Total 
gross Arizona payroll” means amounts considered wages for 
federal income tax withholding purposes. Do not include 
wages exempt from Arizona withholding by Arizona law. 
 

Employer Identification Number (EIN) 
 
 
 

Enter the employer identification number. An employer 
identification number can be obtained from the Internal Revenue 
Service. 
 

Quarter and Year 
 
 

The table below identifies which months are in which quarter: 
 

For these months: Enter this number
for the Quarter: 

January, February, March 1 
April, May, June 2 
July, August, September 3 
October, November, December 4 

 

Enter the quarter from the chart above. Enter the four-digit year. 
 

II. Tax Liability Schedule Section 
 

NOTE: All liabilities reported and payments made should be 
net of any withholding designated for tax credits in accordance 
with HB2287 (2009). 
 

Quarterly Tax Liability 
 
 
 

An employer that incurs a quarterly withholding tax liability must 
complete Part IIA, Quarterly Tax Liability, and Part III, line 1. 
Enter the amount of Arizona withholding tax liability for the 
quarter, not the amount of Arizona withholding payments. DO NOT 
COMPLETE PART IIB, MONTHLY TAX LIABILITY, OR PART 
IV, THE DAILY TAX LIABILITY SCHEDULE. 
 

Monthly Tax Liability 
 
 

An employer that incurs a monthly withholding tax liability for 
all three months of the calendar quarter must complete Part IIB, 
Monthly Tax Liability, for months 1, 2, and 3. 
 

Enter the amount of Arizona withholding tax liability for each 
applicable month, not the amount of Arizona withholding 
payments. Add the three monthly subtotals. Enter the total 
Arizona tax liability for the calendar quarter on Part III, line 1. 
 

If the employer also incurs a one-banking day withholding 
obligation during a month in the calendar quarter, complete the 
applicable daily tax liability section for each month of the 
calendar quarter a one-banking day withholding obligation is 
incurred. Enter the amount of Arizona withholding tax liability in 
the applicable daily tax liability section, not the amount of 
Arizona withholding payments. Enter the total for each month in 
Part IIB. Add the three monthly subtotals. Enter the total Arizona 
tax liability for the calendar quarter in Part III, line 1. 
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NOTE: Be sure to check the box on page 1, in Part IIB, if the 
taxpayer is required to complete section A, B, and/or C of the 
Daily Tax Liability Schedule on page 2. 
 

IF AN EMPLOYER INCURS A ONE-BANKING DAY OBLIGATION 

DURING THE FIRST MONTH: 
 

 First month - complete section A of the daily tax liability 
schedule. 

 

 Second month - complete section B of the daily tax liability 
schedule. 

 

 Third month - complete section C of the daily tax liability 
schedule. 

 

IF AN EMPLOYER INCURS A ONE-BANKING DAY OBLIGATION 

DURING THE SECOND MONTH: 
 

 First month - complete Part IIB, month 1 liability. 
 

 Second month - complete section B of the daily tax liability 
schedule. 

 

 Third month - complete section C of the daily tax liability 
schedule. 

 

IF AN EMPLOYER INCURS A ONE-BANKING DAY OBLIGATION 

DURING THE THIRD MONTH: 
 

 First month - complete Part IIB, month 1 liability. 
 

 Second month - complete Part IIB, month 2 liability. 
 

 Third month - complete section C of the daily tax liability 
schedule. 

 

Daily Tax Liability  
(Semi-Weekly or One-Banking Day) 

 

NOTE: Be sure to check the box on page 1, in Part IIB, if the 
taxpayer is required to complete section A, B, and/or C of the 
Daily Tax Liability Schedule on page 2. 
 

Complete sections A, B, and C, of the Daily Tax Liability Schedule; 
Part IIB, Monthly Tax Liability; and Part III, line 1. On lines A1 
through A31, B1 through B31, and C1 through C31, of the Daily 
Tax Liability Schedule, make entries on the day that an Arizona 
withholding tax liability was incurred. Enter the amount of Arizona 
withholding tax liability for each applicable day, not the amount of 
Arizona withholding payments. Add the amounts entered on the 
daily liability schedule for each month. Enter the total for each 
month on sections A, B, and C, and on Part IIB. Add the amounts 
entered on Part IIB. Enter the total Arizona tax liability for the 
calendar quarter on Part III, line 1. 
 

Important note for one-banking day obligations: Check the 
small gray box to the right of the number that corresponds to 
the day that the employer incurred an Arizona one-banking day 
withholding obligation. Leave this box blank unless a one-
banking day withholding obligation was incurred. 
 

III. Tax Computation Section 
 

Line 1 - Liability 
 

 

Quarterly tax liability employer - enter the amount from Part IIA, 
quarterly tax liability. 
 

Monthly tax liability employer (all three months of quarter) - 
add the amounts in Part IIB, monthly tax liability, for months 1, 
2 and 3. Enter the total. 
 

Monthly tax liability (less than three months)/daily tax liability 
employer - add the amounts in Part IIB, monthly tax liability, 
for months 1, 2 and 3. Enter the total. 
 

Daily tax liability employer (all three months of quarter) - add 
the amounts in Part IIB, monthly tax liability, for months 1, 2 
and 3. Enter the total. 
 

 

Line 2 - Prior Payments Made for This Quarter 
  
 

Enter the total amount of other payments made for this quarter 
in this field. If no income tax was withheld for this quarter, 
enter -0- in this field. 
 

Line 3 - Total Amount Due 
 
 

Subtract the amount on line 2 from the amount on line 1. Enter 
the difference.  
 

If line 3 is a positive number, this is the amount of tax 
remaining due. Payments can be made via check, electronic 
check, money order, or credit card. The department will 
calculate the amount of interest, apply any applicable penalties, 
and send a billing notice after the return is processed.  
 

Check or money order 
 

Make checks payable to Arizona Department of Revenue. 
Write the taxpayer's EIN on the front of the check or money 
order. Include the check or money order with the return.  
 

Internet Payments 
 

Employers must be licensed by the Department of Revenue before 
they can register to pay taxes online. Go to www.aztaxes.gov to 
register and make payments over the internet. 
 

Electronic payment from checking or savings account 
 

Payments can be made electronically from a checking or savings 
account. Go to www.aztaxes.gov and choose the e-check option. 
There is no fee to use this method. This payment method will debit 
the amount from the specified checking or savings account on the 
date specified. If an electronic payment is made from a checking or 
savings account, a confirmation number will be generated. Please 
keep this confirmation number as proof of payment. 
 

Credit card payment 
 

Payments can be made via American Express, Discover, 
MasterCard or VISA credit cards. Go to www.aztaxes.gov and 
choose the credit card option. This will take you to the website 
of the credit card payment service provider. The service 
provider will charge a convenience fee based on the amount of 
the tax payment. The service provider will disclose the amount 
of the convenience fee during the transaction and the option to 
continue or cancel the transaction will be presented. If you 
accept the convenience fee and complete the credit card 
transaction, a confirmation number will be generated. Please 
keep this confirmation number as proof of payment. 
 

If line 3 is a negative number (an amount less than zero), this is the 
overpayment for the quarter. After the return is processed and 
payments are confirmed, the overpayment will be applied to any 
outstanding liabilities, possibly in another tax type. If the 
overpayment exceeds the outstanding liabilities or the employer has 
no outstanding liabilities, a refund will be issued. A refund will 
not be issued once the overpayment is applied to a liability. 


